Computing Community Consortium Blog

The goal of the Computing Community Consortium (CCC) is to catalyze the computing research community to debate longer range, more audacious research challenges; to build consensus around research visions; to evolve the most promising visions toward clearly defined initiatives; and to work with the funding organizations to move challenges and visions toward funding initiatives. The purpose of this blog is to provide a more immediate, online mechanism for dissemination of visioning concepts and community discussion/debate about them.

Seven Computer Scientists Named Members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

April 24th, 2013 / in Uncategorized / by Shar Steed

aaasSeven computer scientists were recently named members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a prestigious 233-year-old national honorary society of leaders from academia, business, public affairs and the humanities. The new members from computer science include: Anant Agarwal (MIT), David Dill (Stanford), Susan Eggers (Washington), Jitendra Malik (Berkeley), Peter Norvig (Google), Jen Rexford (Princeton), and Richard Tapia (Rice).

According to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences website, “The Academy’s greatest strength lies in the leadership of its active members and wide range of expertise they bring to its studies and publications. The Academy membership encompasses over 4,000 Fellows and 600 Foreign Honorary Members and reflects the full range of disciplines: mathematics, the physical and biological sciences, medicine, the social sciences and humanities, business, government, public affairs, and the arts. Among its Fellows are more than 250 Nobel Prize laureates and 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.”

Click here to view the full list of new members.


Seven Computer Scientists Named Members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Comments are closed.