Computing Community Consortium Blog

The goal of the Computing Community Consortium (CCC) is to catalyze the computing research community to debate longer range, more audacious research challenges; to build consensus around research visions; to evolve the most promising visions toward clearly defined initiatives; and to work with the funding organizations to move challenges and visions toward funding initiatives. The purpose of this blog is to provide a more immediate, online mechanism for dissemination of visioning concepts and community discussion/debate about them.

NAE Elects its Class of 2012

February 9th, 2012 / in awards / by Erwin Gianchandani

National Academy of Engineering (NAE)The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) has just announced the election of 66 new members and 10 foreign associates, including a number of esteemed computing researchers. Among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer, “Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to ‘engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature,’ and to the ‘pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education’.”

This year’s new members in Section 5 — Computer Science and Engineering are (following the link):

Kai Li, Paul M. Wythes ‘55, P’86 and Marcia R. Wythes P’86 Professor, department of computer science, PrincetonUniversity, Princeton, N.J.  For advances in data storage and distributed computer systems.


Henrique S. Malvar, chief scientist and distinguished engineer, Microsoft Research, Redmond, Wash.  For contributions to multiresolution signal processing and multimedia signal compression and standards.


Philip M. Neches, chairman, Foundation Ventures LLC, New York City.  For the architecture and software of parallel database appliances.


David E. Shaw, chief scientist, D.E. Shaw Research, New York City.  For the architecture, design, and implementation of the Anton protein-folding supercomputer.


Scott J. Shenker, professor, electrical engineering and computer science department, University of California, Berkeley. For contributions to Internet design and architecture.


Amit Singhal, Google Fellow, Google Inc., Mountain View, Calif.  For contributions to information retrieval and search.


Michael S. Waterman, University Professor, USC Associates Chair in Natural Sciences, and professor of biological sciences, computer science, and mathematics, College of Letters, Arts, and Sciences, University of Southern California, Los Angeles.  For development of computational methods for DNA and protein sequence analyses.

And among the new foreign associates:

Frank P. Kelly, professor of the mathematics of systems, and master of Christ’s College, University of Cambridge,Cambridge, U.K.  For contributions to the theory and optimization of communication networks.

Check out the full list of new members here.

(Contributed by Erwin Gianchandani, CCC Director)

NAE Elects its Class of 2012
  • Barbara Owens

    Where are the women?