Computing Community Consortium Blog

The goal of the Computing Community Consortium (CCC) is to catalyze the computing research community to debate longer range, more audacious research challenges; to build consensus around research visions; to evolve the most promising visions toward clearly defined initiatives; and to work with the funding organizations to move challenges and visions toward funding initiatives. The purpose of this blog is to provide a more immediate, online mechanism for dissemination of visioning concepts and community discussion/debate about them.

NAE Announces Class of 2011

February 8th, 2011 / in awards / by Ed Lazowska

The National Academy of Engineering has announced the newly-elected Members of the Class of 2011.  The nine new Members of Section 5 (Computer Science & Engineering) are:

  • Susan Dumais, Microsoft Research
  • Daphne Koller, Stanford University
  • Hank Levy, University of Washington
  • Jitendra Malik, UC Berkeley
  • Nick McKeown, Stanford University
  • Don Norman, Northwestern University
  • Ari Requischa, University of Southern California
  • Fred Schneider, Cornell University
  • Mihalis Yannakakis, Columbia University

In addition, Jonathan Rose (University of Toronto) was elected as a Foreign Associate.

Quoting from the NAE:  “Members are elected to NAE by their peers (current NAE members). Election to membership is one of the highest professional honors accorded an engineer.  Members have distinguished themselves in business and academic management, in technical positions, as university faculty, and as leaders in government and private engineering organizations.”

Congratulations to these outstanding contributors to our field!

NAE Announces Class of 2011

Comments are closed.