Computing Community Consortium Blog

The goal of the Computing Community Consortium (CCC) is to catalyze the computing research community to debate longer range, more audacious research challenges; to build consensus around research visions; to evolve the most promising visions toward clearly defined initiatives; and to work with the funding organizations to move challenges and visions toward funding initiatives. The purpose of this blog is to provide a more immediate, online mechanism for dissemination of visioning concepts and community discussion/debate about them.

Jennifer Rexford Announced as the 2017 NCWIT Harrold and Notkin Award Recipient

May 9th, 2017 / in Announcements, awards, CCC / by Helen Wright

Computing Community Consortium (CCC) council member Dr. Jennifer Rexford, Professor and Computer Science Department Chair at Princeton University, has been named the recipient of the 2017 Harrold and Notkin Research and Graduate Mentoring Award.

The award, sponsored by the NCWIT Board of Directors, recognizes faculty members from non-profit institutions who distinguish themselves with outstanding research and excellent graduate mentoring, as well as those who recruit, encourage, and promote women and minorities in computing fields. It is bestowed in memory of Mary Jean Harrold and David Notkin, in honor of their outstanding research, graduate mentoring, and diversity contributions.

Dr. Rexford spent eight years as a researcher at AT&T Labs Research before joining the faculty at Princeton, from which she received her undergraduate degree, in 2005. From a research standpoint, she is best known for her advances in the field of computer networking, including her earlier work in network routing stability and more recent research that is commonly viewed as having played a central role in launching the field of software-defined networking (SDN).

Dr. Rexford will be honored at the 2017 NCWIT Summit on Women and IT, and her institution will be gifted $5,000 from NCWIT.

See the full NCWIT blog post here.

Congrats, Jen!!

Jennifer Rexford Announced as the 2017 NCWIT Harrold and Notkin Award Recipient

Comments are closed.