Computing Community Consortium Blog

The goal of the Computing Community Consortium (CCC) is to catalyze the computing research community to debate longer range, more audacious research challenges; to build consensus around research visions; to evolve the most promising visions toward clearly defined initiatives; and to work with the funding organizations to move challenges and visions toward funding initiatives. The purpose of this blog is to provide a more immediate, online mechanism for dissemination of visioning concepts and community discussion/debate about them.

National Academy of Engineering Elects New Members

February 8th, 2016 / in Announcements, awards, Research News / by Helen Wright

NAE-LogoThe National Academy of Engineering (NAE) has elected 80 new members and 22 foreign members. This brings the total U.S. membership to 2,275 and the number of foreign members to 232. Many of the newly elected members work in fields related to computer science.

Here are a few of them:

  • Thomas E. Anderson, Warren Francis and Wilma Kolm Bradley Endowed Chair in Computer Science and Engineering, University of Washington, Seattle.  For contributions to the design of resilient and efficient distributed computer systems.
  • Dan Bonehprofessor of computer science and electrical engineering, Stanford University, Stanford, Calif.  For contributions to the theory and practice of cryptography and computer security.
  • Frederick R. Chang, director, Darwin Deason Institute for Cyber Security, Bobby B. Lyle Endowed Centennial Distinguished Chair in Cyber Security, and professor, department of computer science and engineering, Lyle School of Engineering, Southern Methodist University, Dallas.  For leadership in cybersecurity research in the intelligence community and advancing the importance of cybersecurity science in academia.
  • David S. Johnsonvisiting professor of computer science, Columbia University, New York City.  For contributions to the theory and practice of optimization and approximation algorithms.
  • Arati Prabhakar, director, U.S. Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, Arlington, Va.  For national leadership to advance semiconductor and information technologies.

From the NAE press release:

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer.  Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to “engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature” and to “the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”

To see a full list of the newly elected members and foreign members, with their primary affiliations at the time of election and a brief statement of their principal engineering accomplishment, please read the NAE press release.

National Academy of Engineering Elects New Members