Computing Community Consortium Blog

The goal of the Computing Community Consortium (CCC) is to catalyze the computing research community to debate longer range, more audacious research challenges; to build consensus around research visions; to evolve the most promising visions toward clearly defined initiatives; and to work with the funding organizations to move challenges and visions toward funding initiatives. The purpose of this blog is to provide a more immediate, online mechanism for dissemination of visioning concepts and community discussion/debate about them.

The 2015 Grace Hopper Celebration ABIE Award Winners

September 15th, 2015 / in Announcements, awards, Research News / by Khari Douglas

The Anita Borg Institute (ABI), a non-profit organization focused on the advancement of women in computing, has announced the winners of the 2015 Grace Hopper Celebanita borg instituteration (GHC) ABIE Awards.

Each year, the GHC ABIE Awards recognize female leaders in the categories of technical leadership, social impact, innovative teaching practices, emerging leadership and international change agent.  

The winners are nominated by their peers and chosen by a panel of fellow technologists and past ABIE Award winners based on their extraordinary achievements and commitment to excellence.

This year’s GHC ABIE Awards and their winners, respectively, are:

Technical Leadership ABIE Award 

The Technical Leadership ABIE Award recognizes women technologists who demonstrate leadership through their contributions to technology and achievements in increasing the impact of women on technology.

  • Winner: Lydia E. Kavraki, Noah Harding Professor of Computer Science and Professor of Bioengineering at Rice UniversityHer research focuses on physical algorithms and their applications in robotics, computational structural biology, and translational bioinformatics.

Social Impact ABIE Award 

The Social Impact ABIE Award recognizes those who have made a positive impact on women, technology, and society. 

  • Winner: Michal Segalov and Daniela Raijman, team of software engineers from Google who co-founded Mind the Gap, a Google program focused on encouraging high school girls to select computer science and math as their high-school major.

Change Agent ABIE Awards 

The Change Agent ABIE Awards recognize international women who have created opportunities for girls and women in technology abroad.

Richard Newton Educator ABIE Award 

The A. Richard Newton Educator ABIE Award recognizes educators who develop innovative teaching practices and approaches that attract girls and women to computing, engineering, and math.

Denice Denton Emerging Leader ABIE Award 

The Denice Denton Emerging Leader ABIE Award recognizes a junior faculty member for high-quality research and significant positive impact on diversity. 

  • Winner: Lydia Tapia, Assistant Professor in Computer Science at the University of New Mexico where she researches methodologies for the simulation and analysis of motions. She has applied these ideas to both robots and disease causing proteins.

The Anita Borg Institute will celebrate the ABIE Award winners at the 2015 Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing, held in Houston, Texas on October 14 – 16, 2015.

For more information on the Awards and the winners, read the press release on the Anita Borg website.

The 2015 Grace Hopper Celebration ABIE Award Winners

Comments are closed.