Computing Community Consortium Blog

The goal of the Computing Community Consortium (CCC) is to catalyze the computing research community to debate longer range, more audacious research challenges; to build consensus around research visions; to evolve the most promising visions toward clearly defined initiatives; and to work with the funding organizations to move challenges and visions toward funding initiatives. The purpose of this blog is to provide a more immediate, online mechanism for dissemination of visioning concepts and community discussion/debate about them.

2015 Microsoft Research Faculty Summit

July 6th, 2015 / in Announcements, policy, research horizons, Research News, robotics / by Helen Wright

Screen Shot 2015-07-06 at 8.47.39 AMThe 2015 Microsoft Research Faculty Summit will be streamed live from Redmond, Washington on Wednesday, July 8 and Thursday, July 9. This free online event offers keynotes and selected presentations from the Faculty Summit on future trends in computer science research.

This year’s event, which focuses on Artificial Intelligence, includes former Computing Community Consortium (CCC) Council Member and now Microsoft Research Managing Director, Eric Horvitz. Eric recently posted a CCC blog post on the Benefits and Risks of Artificial Intelligence.

The Summit will feature three keynote speakers and a panel:

July 8:

July 9:

  • Keynote: A Revolution Against Big-Brother Social Networks 9:00–9:45 A.M. PT (12:00–12:45 P.M. ET):
    Monica Lam, Professor of Computer Science, Stanford University
  • Closing Keynote 4:30–5:30 P.M. PT (7:30–8:30 P.M. ET):
    Peter Lee, Corporate Vice President, Microsoft Research

For more information, please see the Faculty Summit 2015 website.

2015 Microsoft Research Faculty Summit