Computing Community Consortium Blog

The goal of the Computing Community Consortium (CCC) is to catalyze the computing research community to debate longer range, more audacious research challenges; to build consensus around research visions; to evolve the most promising visions toward clearly defined initiatives; and to work with the funding organizations to move challenges and visions toward funding initiatives. The purpose of this blog is to provide a more immediate, online mechanism for dissemination of visioning concepts and community discussion/debate about them.

Computing Community Consortium Announces New Council Members and Executive Committee

June 17th, 2013 / in Uncategorized / by Shar Steed

ccc-logo3The Computing Research Association (CRA), in consultation with the National Science Foundation (NSF), has appointed five new members to the Computing Community Consortium (CCC) Council:

Beginning July 1, the new members will each serve three-year terms, and a new executive committee will be formed. Susan Graham, University of California at Berkeley, will become Chair; Gregory Hager, Johns Hopkins University, will become Vice Chair; and Edward Lazowska, University of Washington will become Past Chair. In January 2014, Susan Davidson, University of Pennsylvania, will join the executive committee.

The CCC Council is comprised of 18 members who have expertise in diverse areas of computing. They are instrumental in leading CCC’s visioning programs, which help create and enable visions for future computing research. Members serve three-year terms which are staggered such that about six rotate every July.

In addition to the new Council members, CRA has also re-appointed terms for three current members: Randal Bryant, Carnegie Mellon University, three year term; Elizabeth Mynatt, Georgia Institute of Technology, two year term; and Fred Schneider, Cornell University, one year term.

The CCC, CRA and NSF, thank those Council members whose terms end on June 30 for their exceptional dedication and service to the CCC during its startup phase and to the broader computing research community:

  • Lance Fortnow, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Eric Horvitz, Microsoft Research
  • Hank Korth, Lehigh University
  • Margo Seltzer, Harvard University
  • John Mitchell, Stanford University

The CCC encourages participation from all members of the computing researcher community. Each spring, the CCC issues a call for nominations for Council members effective the following July.

Click here to view the press release.

Computing Community Consortium Announces New Council Members and Executive Committee